Welcome Letter


Dear Friends,

It is our distinct pleasure to welcome you to URTeC 2023. 

With our industry now back on its feet after putting the pandemic in the rear-view mirror and witnessing oil prices exceeding $70 since mid-2021, combined with increasing world energy demands, we are thrilled to be hosting another exciting Unconventional Resources Technology Conference (URTeC). The stage is set for us to put our expertise into action and do our part to provide the world with clean, affordable energy.

The program is as diverse and strong as ever. This means you’ll experience 180 oral and 56 ePaper presentations focused on collaboration and integration between the subsurface G&G disciplines, geomechanics, formation evaluation, wellhead design, completion design, enhanced recovery, production forecasting and the environmental, social, and corporate governance factors that will help you achieve long-term success. In addition, you can choose from five panel sessions, four special sessions, and five topical lunch presentations.

The exhibition hall features over 170 companies, organizations, and educational institutions with the latest research and technology to help you safely produce more for less while always keeping in mind stewardship of the environment and our relationship with those who live in the areas where we operate. In addition, the exhibition hall includes two technical presentation ePaper stations, a core exhibit, and the U-Pitch New Technology Showcase to connect technology entrepreneurs with potential partners and investors.

URTeC is a forum where professionals engaged in all aspects of the unconventional E&P lifecycle come together to innovate, integrate, and advance understanding to create value. This conference remains the best opportunity you’ll have to exchange information, formulate strategic ideas, and solve problems to manage and optimize your unconventional resource plays. 

We wish you an interesting and productive URTeC experience. Enjoy the conference.

Technical Program Co-Chairs

Johannes Alvarez
SPE Program Chair

Scott Singelton
SEG Program Chair
NextEra Energy

Katerina Yared
AAPG Program Chair
SM Energy